Databases

ABC-CLIO American History
Username and Password: monsonpatron
From the first explorers in the New World to the developments in today’s headlines, ABC-CLIO Schools’ authoritative American History database investigates the people, events, and themes of our nation’s evolution.
Provided by the Monson Free Library

ABC-CLIO Issues
Username and Password: monsonpatron
Go behind the headlines and beyond the opinions to gain real understanding of today’s most pressing social issues.
Provided by the Monson Free Library

ABC-CLIO World History the Modern Era
Username and Password: monsonpatron
Everything your students need for an in-depth understanding of the world, its landforms, weather systems, and resources as well as its colorful and often conflicting human cultures.
Provided by the Monson Free Library

Academic OneFile
Use this comprehensive periodical resource of full-text peer-reviewed content for over 10,000 manually indexed journals and reference works covering all subjects, including the full-text of The New York Times back to 1995 and NPR, CNN & CBC transcripts and podcasts.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Agriculture Collection
A comprehensive periodical collection supporting research in agriculture and related fields.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

ancestry library editionAncestry.com
Research your family history with this rich collection of records!  Must be used in the library, but accessible on your own device as long as you are connected to our WiFi!
Provided by the Monson Free Library

Artemis Literary Sources
This newly available statewide literature resources platform allows cross-searching of all statewide and locally licensed Gale literature products.  Unlock information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. Search across centuries to see the broader continuum of the story you choose to tell.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library System

ArtistWorks logoNEW! ArtistWorks
Music and Art Instruction

Unlimited access to beginning to advanced lessons for instruments, voice and physical art.

All you need to set up an account is a Monson library card and an email address.  Account includes ComicsPlus and QuelloConcerts!
Provided by the Monson Free Library

Biography in Context
Use this database for over 400,000 biographies covering literary figures, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, government, history, current events and the arts. Indexes all print volumes of the series.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library System

The Boston Globe
Read and search The Boston Globe on-line. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so there is access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Britannica Learning Zone
The Britannica Learning Zone offers an engaging online tool for early-childhood learning, covering letters, words, numbers, time, sound, geography, and more. This activity-centered learning environment- created for Pre-Kindergarten through 2nd grade- supports classroom curriculum and helps students build technology skills.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Britannica Library
The award-winning resource for children and adults.  Easy to use, and easy to find trusted information.  Chose a level (Children, Young Adult, or Reference Center) and search for what you want to know!
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Britannica – School Edition
Choose either the Elementary, Middle or High School Edition to explore, search, and learn.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Britannica – Spanish Edition
Encyclopedia Britannica resources for primary and secondary education in Spanish.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Business Economics and Theory
A comprehensive periodical collection supporting economics and related fields.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

 

Comics Plus logoNEW! ComicsPlus
Online collection of comics and graphic novels

Unlimited access to over 13,000 popular and classic titles.

All you need to set up an account is a Monson library card and an email address.  Account includes ArtistWorks and QuelloConcerts!
Provided by the Monson Free Library

Communications and Mass Media Collection
A comprehensive periodical collection supporting the communications field.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Criminal Justice Collection
Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to hundreds of full-text journals.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Culinary Arts Collection
The Culinary Arts collection includes major cooking and nutrition magazines, culinary journals and several Delmar Reference titles. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Diversity Studies Collection
A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, the Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Educator’s Reference Complete
Use this mainly full-text collection of over 1100 periodicals and 200 reports for educational research from preschool to college. Every educational specialty can be found here including technology, health and bilingual education, testing, and issues in administration, funding and policy.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Providing robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, this collection, which includes magazines and academic journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Expanded Academic ASAP
Use this database to find full-text scholarly journals, new magazines and newspapers for all academic disciplines.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Fine Arts and Music Collection
From research prelude to ending, Fine Arts & Music Collection moves fast, providing information on hundreds of arts-related topics.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Gale Databases
Search our collection of Gale databases all at once!
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Gardening, Landscaping and Horticulture Collection
Farmers, landscape architects, and biotechnologists alike will have their information appetites sated with this collection of journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. A fertile and growing collection, this collection includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Gender Studies Collection
Gender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.  Comprehensive periodical resource for any subject. Coverage goes back to 1980- with over 9,200 titles (5,156 full-text).
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

General Science Collection
Learn about what’s new in the world of Science!
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Global Issues in Context
Global Issues in Context offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context is a truly non-U.S. centric resource that ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues — providing information seekers with a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Health and Wellness Resource Center
The Health & Wellness Resource Center delivers magazines, journals, newsletters (1980–present), newspapers (1999–present), pamphlets.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Health Reference Center Academic
Full-text database that provides full-text nursing & allied health journals, plus current and reliable personal health information.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

logo-ehrsHealth Reference Series Online
A collection of consumer health sourcebooks available for you to access any time at home!  Login with “27371” when it asks for your Library Card Prefix to browse, read, and print.  From there you can create a personal account that allows you to save articles and make your own notes!

Currently we have Allergies, Alzheimer, Arthritis, Asthma, Eating Disorders, Gastrointestinal Diseases and Disorders, Learning Disabilities, and Medical Tests!
Provided by the Monson Free Library

Home Improvement Collection
Home improvement resources for hobbyists and professionals!
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure
With current and relevant content from industry journals, travel guides and magazines this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry – including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Information Science and Library Issues Collection
Great for information science and technology professionals.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Insurance & Liability Collection
Protection of assets–physical or intellectual–is a concern for those ranging from the individual property owner to multinational corporations. The Insurance & Liability Collection connects researchers to hundreds of thousands of updated articles from leading journals, including: Business Insurance, Claims, Employee Benefit News, National Underwriter Life & Health, Pensions & Investments, Risk Management, and more.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

InfoTrac K-12 Student Edition
Designed for secondary school students. Includes mainly full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books covering current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

InfoTrac Newsstand
Full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section or other fields, eliminating random searching through newspaper archives.  InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Kids InfoBits
Targeting the research needs of grades K-5 students. this resources incudes Blackbirch Press curriculum support references, 100 full-text age appropriate magazines and 2 newswires. Graphs, charts, maps and over 2,500 searchable images.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

logocolorMango Languages
A great way to learn a new language, or brush up on one you’ve already learned.
Monson library card required.
Provided by the Monson Free Library

Military & Intelligence Database Collection
Military and Intelligence Database Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Newsbank: Western Massachusetts Local Newspapers
With your Monson library card, you can now access current and past issues of these local papers: The Advocate (North Adams), the Amherst Bulletin, the Berkshire Eagle, Daily Hampshire Gazette, North Adams Transcript, The Recorder (Greenfield), the Republican, Springfield Advocate (Sep 1996-Apr 1998), and the Springfield Examiner, and the Valley Advocate (Easthampton).
Use your Monson library barcode to log in to the site.
Provided to all libraries in the four Western counties through the generosity of several W. Mass libraries and organizations

NoveList
An electronic readers’ advisory resource which assists fiction readers in finding new authors and titles. Use the name of a favorite author or title to find similar books, or browse lists of award winning titles.
Provided to member libraries through the C/W MARS library network

The New York Times (1985-)
Full-text of The New York Times from 1985- as a standalone file (also included in Academic OneFile).
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Nursing and Allied Health Collection
All aspects of the Nursing profession — from direct patient care to health care administration — are covered. This collection’s current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Nursing Resource Center with Allied Health
Password: patriot
Nursing Resource Center provides the wide array of content needed for research papers and basic nursing theory overviews, including access to sample care plans, multimedia content, full text reference books, citations to journals in the field and more. Nursing students can search through millions of pages of content from the top reference and textbook publications in the field, as well as animated depictions of human anatomy.
Provided by the Monson Free Library

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Password: patriot
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop information literacy, critical thinking skills, and the confidence to draw their own valid conclusions.
Provided by the Monson Free Library

OverDrive
Borrow downloadable eBooks, audiobooks, magazines, and videos from C/W MARS.
Provided by C/W MARS

Pop Culture Collection
Pop culture is all around us and influences our lives every day. For any social sciences, history, art, or liberal arts researcher, the Popular Culture Collection
provides useful information from over two million articles found in over 100 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals that are updated daily.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Popular Magazines
Search and find articles from popular magazines including Cosmopolitan, Newsweek, New Yorker, USA Today, Vegetarian Journal, and more.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection
Both researcher and practitioner alike will find relevant, authoritative content in this collection, which includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Covering a wide spectrum of information, researchers will have access to a diverse, but focused set of topics in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Psychology Collection
Minds will meet when researchers in the field of psychology connect with the vast database of information found in Psychology Collection.  Students, psychologists, counselors, counselees, behavioral scientists, and other researchers will glean relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in over 3.1 million articles.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

NEW! QuelloConcerts
Watch over 1,500 full-length concerts and documentaries from many of your favorite bands!

All you need to set up an account is a Monson library card and an email address.  Account includes ArtistWorks and ComicsPlus!
Provided by the Monson Free Library

The Monson Free Library presents Quello Concerts. Watch over 1500 full-length concerts and music documentaries

Religion & Philosophy Collection
Religion & Philosophy Collection features a selection of more than 200 magazines and academic journals–everything from Anglican Journal to Zygon–covering religion and the related areas of philosophy and anthropology. Researchers can use this database not only to study theological approaches to social issues, but also to learn about the impact that religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Research in Context
Gale’s Research In Context is designed to bridge the gap between the Kids InfoBits resource for elementary school students and the subject-specific Gale In Context family, developed primarily for high school and undergraduate students.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Science in Context
Supporting high school curricula and university coursework, Science in Context features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography, this revolutionary, this curriculum-oriented online experience is designed to boost achievement for students and researchers.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Small Business Collection
Ideal for business schools and entrepreneurs, Small Business Collection is updated daily and provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Users find more than 500 subject-appropriate, active, full-text periodicals, including: Beverage Industry, Black Enterprise, Economist, Entrepreneurship: Theory and Practice, HR Magazine, Real Estate Weekly, Restaurant Business, Tea & Coffee Trade Journal, And more.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Small Business Resource Center
When starting a new business, entrepreneurs need all the help they can get.  Small Business Resource Center covers all major areas of starting and operating a business: financing, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, taxes and more. Startups, established businesses, and business students alike can find answers from its mobile responsive experience.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

UC-Web-BannerUniversal Class
Lifelong learning!  What do you want to know more about?  History, Science, Real Estate, Law, Art, or something else altogether?  Check out Universal Class and get started today!
Provided by the Monson Free Library.

U.S. History Collection
U.S. History Collection is useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher. This collection of journals provides balanced coverage of both current thought on events in U.S. history as well as scholarly work established in the field.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

U.S. History in Context
U.S. History in Context delivers comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today. Providing a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information, it combines documents from Primary Source Microfilm’s™ digital archives; articles from classic Macmillan Reference USA™ and Charles Scribner’s Sons® references; as well as other Gale proprietary content such as country and era overview information, and full-text periodicals and journals.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

War & Terrorism Collection
Researchers accessing the more than 1.7 million articles in the War and Terrorism Collection will gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact and perception on a global scale.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

 

World History Collection
Both the novice historian and the advanced academic researcher will find useful information in this collection of leading journals in the field of world history.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

World History in Context
World History in Context is a comprehensive online collection that uses an intuitive, Web-like interface to provide multicultural, global and research-based dynamic content that supports today’s history research requirements. World History in Context moves chronologically over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe, to ensure that the events, movements and individuals that defined, informed and shaped world history are covered with a sense of balance.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

Vocations and Careers Collection
Finding the right career can be a daunting and high stakes task: finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones. Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems

LY5053_Zinio_WebButtonZinio for Libraries
24/7 access to over 50 popular magazine titles.  Read on your computer or download to your phone with the Zinio for Libraries app.  Set-up of Zinio for Libraries account works best through the website, then use your account email to set up the app.
Monson library card required.
Provided by the Monson Free Library

Databases available for use in the Monson Free Library only:
Ancestry.com Genealogy and Family History Records is a subscription based resource of worldwide census, marriage, newspaper and various other records. To use the library’s membership ask at the main desk and one of the staff will log you in.
Provided by the Monson Free Library

Recent Posts