Online Databases

ABC-CLIO American History
Username and Password: monsonpatron
From the first explorers in the New World to the developments in today's headlines, ABC-CLIO Schools' authoritative American History database investigates the people, events, and themes of our nation's evolution.
Provided by the Monson Free Library
ABC-CLIO Issues
Username and Password: monsonpatron
Go behind the headlines and beyond the opinions to gain real understanding of today's most pressing social issues.
Provided by the Monson Free Library
ABC-CLIO World Geography
Username and Password: monsonpatron
Everything your students need for an in-depth understanding of the world, its landforms, weather systems, and resources as well as its colorful and often conflicting human cultures.
Provided by the Monson Free Library
Academic OneFile
Use this comprehensive periodical resource of full-text peer-reviewed content for over 10,000 manually indexed journals and reference works covering all subjects, including the full-text of The New York Times back to 1995 and NPR, CNN & CBC transcripts and podcasts.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems
African-American History Online
Provides expansive and in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history.
Provided to member libraries through the C/W MARS library network
American History Online
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.
Provided to member libraries through the C/W MARS library network
American Women Online
Covers the important people, events, legislation, and issues relevant to the study of women's history in the United States.
Provided to member libraries through the C/W MARS library network
Biography Resource Center
Use this database for over 400,000 biographies covering literary figures, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, government, history, current events and the arts. Indexes all print volumes of the series.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems
Biography Resource Center: African Americans
A subset of Biography Resource Center with in-depth essays on the most frequently researched historic and contemporary African American figures and 30,000 thumbnail biographies covering a wide variety of fields.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
An extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary writers. Each entry also contains a biographical/critical introduction, a list of principal works, and sources for further study.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems
Educator's Reference Complete
Use this mainly full-text collection of over 1100 periodicals and 200 reports for educational research from preschool to college. Every educational specialty can be found here including technology, health and bilingual education, testing, and issues in administration, funding and policy.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems
Expanded Academic ASAP
Use this database to find full-text scholarly journals, new magazines and newspapers for all academic disciplines.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A mix of more than 20 full-text reference books covering the arts, biography, business, the environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, geography, and science.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems
General BusinessFile ASAP
Use this database to research all business and management topics. Includes directory listings for over 150,000 companies as well as investment analysts' reports on major companies and industries.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems
General Reference Center Gold
Use this general interest database for full-text and images from magazines, reference books, and newspapers for information on current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences, sports, etc.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems
Grove Art Online
Grove Art Online provides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001). It offers ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 3,000 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools.
Provided to member libraries through the C/W MARS library network
Health Reference Center Academic
Full-text database that provides full-text nursing & allied health journals, plus current and reliable personal health information.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems
InfoTrac K-12 Junior Edition
Designed for junior high and middle school students. Includes mainly full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books covering current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems
InfoTrac K-12 Student Edition
Designed for secondary school students. Includes mainly full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books covering current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems
InfoTrac OneFile
Use this comprehensive periodical resource for any subject. Coverage goes back to 1980- with over 9,200 titles (5,156 full-text).
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems
Kids InfoBits
Targeting the research needs of grades K-5 students. this resources incudes Blackbirch Press curriculum support references, 100 full-text age appropriate magazines and 2 newswires. Graphs, charts, maps and over 2,500 searchable images.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems
Massachusetts History Online
Use this collection for full-text articles from 50 magazines and local newspapers for coverage of Massachusetts people, places and historical events.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems
Massachusetts Newsstand
Full-text coverage of the 12 Massachusetts newspapers listed below. Or click each title specifically below.
Berkshire Eagle 2005-
Boston Globe 1980-
Boston Herald 1991-
Business West (Chicopee) 1992-
Gazette (Haverhill) 12/31/92-8/9/07
Lowell Sun 2004-
North Adams Transcript 2005-
Patriot Ledge (Quincy) 1991-
Plymouth County Business Review 1991-
Sentinel & Enterprise (Fitchburg) 2005-
Standard-Times (New Bedford) 1/4/92-8/19/97
Worcester Telegram & Gazette 1989-
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems
NoveList
An electronic readers' advisory resource which assists fiction readers in finding new authors and titles. Use the name of a favorite author or title to find similar books, or browse lists of award winning titles.
Provided to member libraries through the C/W MARS library network
The New York Times (1985-)
Full-text of The New York Times from 1985- as a standalone file (also included in Academic OneFile).
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems
Science Online
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.
Provided to member libraries through the C/W MARS library network
NewsBank
Springfield Republican full text content from 1988.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and the Springfield City Library
Tumblebooks
The TumbleBook Library is an online collection of TumbleBooks - animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books in order to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you.
Provided by the Monson Free Library
Databases available for use in the Monson Free Library only:
Ancestry.com Genealogy and Family History Records is a subscription based resource of worldwide census, marriage, newspaper and various other records. To use the library's membership ask at the main desk and one of the staff will log you in.
Provided by the Monson Free Library

Back to top